The Golden Acorn by Catherine Cooper

Challenge 40 ~ “A book with a colour in the title.”

goldenacorn

★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

I thoroughly enjoyed this read, despite my apprehensions at first. I picked up the e-book free through my kindle whilst out in Italy, and to be honest wasn’t expecting too much. However, I soon discovered that (whilst clearly aimed at older children/young teens) there was adventure, suspense and plot of a calibre higher than in some young adult books I’ve read this year.

The world is a fantasy one, and yet Cooper makes the whole universe come to life, with truly believable characters (despite being half-crow or a talking animal.) The pacing of the novel was also incredibly well handled – I felt as if we were approaching the climax before I’d even read half the novel, but Cooper managed this with such finesse that the ending did not drag at all.

In fact my only qualm is that, at times, it felt as if the scenes were written for more of a cinematic or theatrical purpose, in that they didn’t fully translate from the page. Much of the scene was focused around visual aspects and actions, but these instances were heavily outnumbered by superior counterparts.

On the whole I found the novel a really enjoyable read, despite being several years above its target audience (and I made sure to recommend it to younger cousins). Cooper opened with a strong start, presenting realistic, steady characters and an enticing plot, which just continued page after page. Despite a complicated climax structure, Cooper paced the novel to perfection, ensuring nothing was too rushed or dragged out.

Recommended for fans of:

  • The Ragwitch by Garth Nix
  • The Magic Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton
  • The Afterdark Princess by Annie Dalton
Leave a Reply

