Six Impossible Things by Fiona Wood

Challenge 24 ~ “A book based entirely on its cover.”

siximpossiblethings.jpg

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I never find myself short of books to read, and when the book I had assigned to this category was lost, it didn’t take long for Six Impossible Things to jump from 2016’s plan to 2015’s. All I had to do was begin scanning through the covers on my to-read list, and this jumped out from the many beautiful gems that live there. And even better, there was a copy already available at the library! It was like fate had conspired to bring me this novel, and after what has been a pretty poor year in overall book ratings for those I’ve read, Six Impossible Things was a rainbow at the end of the storm.

The cover was fantastic, the blurb sold the book to me (figuratively) and then I read the first chapter. From then on, I knew what was going to happen in the book. A guy makes a list of six impossible things he’d like to get done – in how many books do these then not get achieved in some obscure or roundabout way? Wood, however, drew in each and every reader, and told the story spectacularly. Side plotlines were presented and carried through, characters were realistic and developed as the story unfolded and the language was terrific.

I’ve found in many stories like this that storylines are abandoned mid-way, or that half the characters are too poorly constructed to be empathised with. Wood, however, avoids all of these pitfalls, whilst creating a light-hearted and thoroughly enjoyable novel from a predictable overall plotline. Furthermore, the book was easy to read, which secured its foothold in my favourites, and will warm its readers to raising six impossible things in their own lives.

Recommended for fans of:

  • Before I Die by Jenny Downham
  • I Was Here by Gayle Forman
  • Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
Leave a Reply

