We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Challenge 18 ~ “A book on a summer/beach reading list.”

wewereliars

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

When I first finished reading this a week ago, I stated it was one of those books that consumes a tiny part of your soul, never to return it. One week on, I stand by that statement: I have spent many moments since mulling over We Were Liars in my head – not because I need to ascertain what happened, but merely because the characters and the plot sow seeds that diffuse into everyday occurrences and leave your permanently scarred. I kid you not. If you don’t want to see life a little changed, or bare the marks this book will ultimately leave, don’t read We Were Liars.

I went into the book informed. I saw the reviews scattered across the cover and I knew there would be lies. I went in assuming everything would be lies (but, let’s face it, you have to accept some basic truths to be able to read a book). Even so, Lockhart managed to find a million and one ways to sneak little tidbits passed, continue seamlessly and then twist it into the lie it always was. And then, just when you thought you were reaching an answer or understanding as to what happened in Summer 15, there is one catastrophic realisation before Lockhart even needs to print it in black and white, and you know the rest of the book is going to be filled with truths you don’t want to accept about the characters and places you’ve grown to love. It’s utterly heart-breaking.

There’s not really much else I can say about the book without revealing something – basic facts, little knowledge, even huge plot points change so much throughout the book that to tell you one would just contrast greatly from the realities Lockhart leads the reader through (realities you can’t always remember once finished). I can assure you, however, that it’s one of those books that grips you, interests you, consumes you and then tears you apart. And it’s with that warning that I say I recommend the book, but read at your own risk, and prepare for heart-break.

Recommended for fans of:

  • The Scorch Trials by James Dashner
  • The Doubt Factory by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
Leave a Reply

