Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

Wildcard #15

bluelilylilyblue

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

It took a while for this to come in at the library, and that is the only reason why it’s been a month or so since I read The Dream Thieves – honestly, I’ve been chomping at the bit to get going on this one (especially since there was a sneak chapter in the edition of The Dream Thieves that I had!) Blue Lily, Lily Blue is yet another stunning installment in the Raven Cycle series, with Stiefvater’s typical balance of humour, action and serious plotline. Not wanting to wait another month for The Raven King, I reserved the book a significant time ago, and now I cannot wait to get started (although I certainly don’t want this series to end!) I’ve no idea how people coped who’ve been following the series since the initial publication of The Raven Boys – they must have been some agonising waits!

When I’ve heard people talk about Blue Lily, Lily Blue many of the quotes they pick out are Noah-related, and so I thought it would be a Noah-centric novel, answering the mysteries that surrounded that boy/ghost/whatever-you-want-to-refer-to-him-as. It was certainly less Noah-ish than I expected, but I enjoyed it nevertheless (and relished the few snippets of information we did get on the illusive Noah.) The plot brought together elements from both the previous books, and yet I believe it could have definitely stood alone. Stiefvater certainly kept the reader on their toes with several twists and turns, and an unforseeably active plotline.

If I do have one hesitation about the series, it’s how more Blue and Gansey-centric the books seem to be coming. I know for me these are probably my two least favourite of the main characters (although I don’t dislike them by any stretch of the imagination). There’s certainly a lot more to be explored with Noah, Adam and Ronan, and I’m a little hesitant as to how Stiefvater is going to fit in their deserved character exploration in just one book. Not to mention, they’ve still got a king to find! By now I think it is suffice to say Stiefvater’s writing, literary style and pure finesse continues to amaze, and I could honestly read it all day. This is far becoming the best series I’ve read all year!

Recommended for fans of:

  • Thirteen Days to Midnight by Patrick Carman
  • Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling
  • The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge
Leave a Reply

