The Captive Prince Trilogy by C.S. Pacat

Challenge #6 ~”The highest rated on your TBR.”

captiveprinceprincesgambitkingsrising

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I’ll be honest with you, I was not expecting to be blown away by this trilogy. In fact, I wasn’t really that eager about starting it. I’d heard some fantastic things about it from my Goodreads friends, but at the same time it was adapted from a web series, was a romance and I’ve read my fair share of long romantic fanfiction. Let me get something straight: this is not one of them. The trilogy was well-written, engaging and definitely a novel – I mean I finished the whole thing in four days, which is why the review is not separated by book (it’s pretty hard to remember where one finished and the next began!)

All this being said, do not expect to fall instantly in love with the series from page 1. You might well do, but for me the first book was my least favourite. Being published straight from the webseries, it felt a little underdone, with the odd scene that felt out-of-place and the odd section that could have done with a bit more editing. Moving onto books 2 and 3, however, I am pleased to report that this goes away, and instead the book is 100% complete, polished and ready for the reader. (At least, I believe it was – like I said, I did read through them very quickly.)

It was the characters that I fell in love with the most. Well, that and the plotline. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the war scenes or background politics (it’s just not my thing), but the interactions of the characters within this, and they continued development was fantastic. Pacat creates, introduces, maintains and develops a whole varying suite of characters, each as strong and independent as each other, and each with their own range of relationships and backgrounds. Yet, the reader is never confused between one important character and another, nor do they loose track of minor characters (even when many of the names are such that I wouldn’t know how to pronounce them out loud!)

The whole trilogy is an absolute delight to read, and I am more than eager for some more work for Pacat. Her literary style is well-refined (and continually developing throughout the novels), and her attention to character and detail is terrific. Honestly, if only so many other authors could create such realistic, believable and well-developed characters, YA fiction may be an entirely different place. If you don’t take my word alone, I think it speaks volumes that Kings Rising has reached the final round of the Goodreads Choice Awards for 2016 – and it would be a real justice for it to win!

Recommended for fans of:

  • The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Sir Thursday by Garth Nix
  • The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa
Leave a Reply

