Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Challenge #19 ~ “A New York Times bestseller.”

illuminae

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

For my first book this year (2017), Illuminae was an intense, soul-consuming read that I spent a considerable part of New Year curled up on the sofa reading. All I can say is that I hope the rest of 2017’s reads are equally as thrilling. (Oh, and that I am 100% glad I got both Illuminae and Gemina for Christmas because I’m not sure how long I could have lasted without the sequel!)

Illuminae would probably be classified as a sci-fi novel, which aren’t really my thing, but there was something different about Illuminae that made it stand out from the crowd. The unique format of the novel (which I initially wasn’t too impressed with) made the pages fly by, but also added a quirky feel to the novel whilst managing to tell the story as well as the standard prose approach.

Kaufman & Kristoff managed their characters well – I was rapidly hooked into the characters (even though I’d found Kady a little whiny at the start, and wasn’t a huge fan of Ezra), and by the end, I was even a little heartbroken over AIDEN! I would wholly recommend this book to pretty much anyone (which is why many friends have had it thrust into their hands). A word of advice, however, is to make it past the beginning before spreading too much judgement – yes, I was expecting the planet setting to last longer before the spaceship, and yes, a lot is left to the imagination, but I promise it is wholly worth it.

Recommended for fans of:

  • Relentless by Tera Lynn Childs & Tracey Deebs
  • Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld
  • Solitaire by Alice Oseman
Leave a Reply

