Swarm by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan & Deborah Biancotti

Challenge #45 ~ “A book with a one-word title.”

swarm

★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

My opinion in three sentences:

I thought this would be an easy way to get a succinct explanation of everything down, but now I’m thinking about Swarm I’m beginning to question my choice – my opinion boomeranged like crazy throughout the novel. By the end of the novel (and I’m talking the final 15/20%) I was on the edge of my seat, sure, but for a good portion I wasn’t sold on the book at all and it began to teeter on the dreaded position of “Filler Book”. Swarm definitely doesn’t live up to the prowess that was Zeroes, but as you can guess from the four stars, there’s still something to like about it.

(Without ruining anything) The best bit:

The ending, and not as in an “I’m-so-glad-that-book-is-finally-over” way, but because of the skill. Before the final showdown I had several ideas of how it could all happen, how they would get away with everything, who would die/be injured/be victimised/lose their powers, but through a series of totally plausible plot twists the ending was nothing like I thought it would be (and a hundred times better than I was expecting.) Persevere and you will be rewarded.

A warning for the book:

Patience and perseverance are pretty key, I won’t lie. I was an uber-fan of Zeroes, but I was really doubting Swarm for a good while.

Recommended for fans of:

  • Oblivion by Anthony Horowitz
  • The Outs by E.S. Wesley
  • The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

 

[Yes, you’re right – it’s a new review layout! I thought I’d shake things up because, let’s be real, who wants to sit reading long blocks of text when they could be out there engrossed in an epic novel? If you’ve time to spare, however, I’d appreciate an opinion – drop me a line and let me know if you like/dislike it, if there’s something else you’d want to be included, or (as always) if you’ve ideas of something you want to see on my blog. Stay awesome! ~ Raz]

Leave a Reply

