Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Challenge #12 ~ “A book based on a myth.”

everneath

★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆

My opinion in three sentences:

Unlike last week’s review of My Heart and Other Black Holes, Everneath was the total opposite – slow at the start but good at the end. I really had to trudge through the beginning of the novel until things actually picked up (and I almost abandoned it before I got that far!) However, Ashton redeemed it for the second-half such that I actually found myself wanting to read the next chapter, although as for the next book in the series, my decision is still torn.

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

The idea behind the novel was fantastic. Maybe I’m not looking in the right places, but I’m all for some more contemporary myth re-writes. Sure, maybe Ashton’s was a little too obvious in its rewrite, but I’m a huge fan of myths and YA fiction (so why not combine them?!) On that note, if anyone has any recommendations, please drop me a line…

A warning for the book:

The beginning drags, there’s no other way to say it, but it does get better towards the end (although it’s debatable as to whether the improvement makes up for the perseverance…)

Recommended for fans of:

  • The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black
  • The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne
  • Undone by Cat Clarke
Leave a Reply

