Seas by Colleen Oakes

Challenge #38 ~ “A novel inspired by a classic work of literature.”

seas

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My opinion in three sentences:

I came into this from a completely stand-alone perspective: although it’s the second in a trilogy, I hadn’t read the first, and it’s based on Peter Pan, which I’ve never read either. Knowing how awful fan-inspired, based on other pieces of classic literature etc., works can be, I was nervous to read it, but really just needed some pirates in my life. Joves, did this book blow me away – it was enticing, full of suspense, 100% capable of standing alone and beautifully written!

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

The book is jammed – and I mean JAMMED from cover to cover – with action, suspense and a thoroughly engaging plot. Not once did I want to put the book down, even if I sometimes had to, and it was such a rollercoaster of emotions to read, it was epic. If book 3 turns out to be just as thrilling, I’m in for a real treat.

A warning for the book:

Oakes forges an emotional bond between Wendy and the reader before you are a quarter of the way through, and it is both thrilling and exhausting (but 110% in an awesome way). Don’t be surprised if Peter (being the creepy-as toerag that he is) ends up stalking the skies around you for a while after you read that particular scene

Recommended for fans of:

  • Blood Red Road by Moira Young
  • Hold Me Like A Breath by Tiffany Schmidt
  • The Silver Sword by Ian Serraillier
Leave a Reply

