After the Fire by Will Hill

Challenge #14 ~ “Four books linked by the four elements – Book 2: Fire.”

afterthefire

★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

My opinion in three sentences:

This was something different, and refreshingly so, although I’ll admit from the outset that had it not been on the Carnegie shortlist this year, I doubt I’d have discovered it. Still, once I got into the book, it was an interesting plot carried forward by some great plotlines paired with strong use of suspense (and some acceptable characterisation). If I had a qualm, other than the uphill struggle at first to really fall into the novel, I’d say it could have ended earlier than it did and been all the stronger for it.

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

There was nothing superficial to the novel. The topic is not doubt sensitive, yet Hill is very clever in his management. A good author may achieve this too, but Hill crafts the tale with so many levels, complexities and mysteries that it’s not just a good-or-bad. In fact, several times I thought I’d solved the main question – what happened the night of the fire? – just for Hill to instigate a little twist that threw my whole view off kilter. It was epic.

A warning for the book:

The first half was certainly a slower read than the second. I struggled to really get into the book, its characters and the dual timeline at first, but I’m glad that I eventually did. It’s almost as if there are too many uncertainties and questions at first that the reader is so bombarded, not to mention the whole host of characters and their customs that they’re trying to navigate. Perseverance is certainly key at first.

Recommended for fans of:

  • The Patron Saint of Butterflies by Cecilia Galante
  • No Parking at End Times by Bryan Bliss
  • Room by Emma Donoghue

 

Leave a comment