Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke

Challenge #26 ~ “A book with a text-only cover.”

btdatdbs

★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

My opinion in three sentences:

If I had to pick just one word to describe this book, it would be solid – characterisation, plot, pacing, it was all solid. In all honesty, I’m still not 110% sure what is going on with the supernatural element to the novel, but that’s more that it will (hopefully) be explored in the sequel than poor writing. In fact, I’ve already lined up the next book on my Kindle with the expectation of great(er) things to come!

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

Whilst I wasn’t on tenterhooks the entire time (probably because I was quite weirded out by River as a character and everything Tucholke is exploring in that vein), there was no weak element to her writing in the slightest. Everything was on par with everything else, and to a great standard too. What else do you need in a book?

A warning for the book:

The last chapter just lets it all down ever so slightly. In my personal opinion, it’s unnecessary for this novel. The penultimate chapter lines everything up so nicely, leaving it on the perfect cliffhanger to push on, whereas the final chapter seems more like the opening to the sequel would be (yet it’s not presented as such in the book). Still, that’s how I’d go about reading it if I were you, because the penultimate chapter really was THE perfect ending.

Recommended for fans of:

  • The Vanishing Season by Laurie Halse Anderson
  • The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff
  • Cuckoo Song by Frances Hardinge

Leave a comment