The Year We Fell Down by Sarina Bowen

Challenge #37 ~ “A book by an indie author.”

ivyyears.jpg

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My opinion in three sentences:

The Year We Fell Down has become a new favourite nibble novel (one of those quick, easy, fun reads we all need every now and then!) The characters are relatable and likeable, whilst not proving irritating, drab or dull during their POVs, and the plot is lively and balanced to perfection. To tie it all off, Bowen isn’t afraid to tackle difficult issues, but also doesn’t weigh the reader down with unnecessary or over-dramatised action.

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

Bowen knows how to finish things, or even just pace them. Everything about the novel plot-wise seems to be perfectly proportioned, and where the novel concludes works well too. I was a little terrified at first when I discovered it was a duology, but am relived to hear the sequel focuses on a different set of characters (not because I hated Hartley and Callahan, because I definitely

A warning for the book: 

I seem to hark on about it a lot, but the idiom “don’t judge a book by its cover” is really applicable. Take this, for example. It’s no secret I’m not a fan of people on the cover, and this would show why. There’s much more that could be represented to better illustrate the heartiness to the storyline, or even just make it look prettier (such as with the foreign language editions.)

Recommended for fans of:

  • When We Collided by Emery Lord
  • I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios
  • Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Leave a comment