I Was Born for This by Alice Oseman

Wildcard ~ “A book you read in a different format to usual (e.g. ebook, audiobook, hardback copy etc.)”

iwasbornforthis

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My opinion in three sentences:

This book shook me to the core – I didn’t even add it to my TBR because I thought it was either going to be an easy love story between a celebrity and fan, or feature a highly annoying, whiny protagonist. What Oseman delivered, however, blew me away and left me with much food for thought. Add in some amazing writing, two distinct character perspectives and some plotlines that had my heart a-pounding, and you’ve got yourself the new favourite that is I Was Born For This ( – oh, and I totally recommend the audiobook, because the actors are amazing!)

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

If I had to pick just one thing, it would have to be Oseman’s thematic exploration. I know, I know, that sounds so literature student-y (which I am definitely not) but there’s no other way of putting it. The discussion of friendship, fandom, non-romantic relationships, life decisions and future all left me turning things over in my own head long after I’d set the headphones down and were things I was 100% not expecting from such a book. In hindsight, of course, I should have been because it’s Oseman, but I don’t think I’ve read a book on these topics that’s made me think that hard before. Kudos.

A warning for the book:

I was in a serious book hangover after I finished this book. Not only did I end up listening to over half of it in one go, but then I couldn’t stop thinking about it. The ending itself had me on tenterhooks and then I was thinking over so many of the points and themes Oseman had brought up, and their relevance in my own life, that I was an emotional mess with limited mental functioning. So, be prepared, folks – you’re in for a wild ride!

Recommended for fans of:

  • Keeping the Beat by Marie Powell & Jeff Norton
  • All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
  • Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

 

Leave a comment