Even in Paradise by Chelsey Philpot

Challenge #37 ~ “A book set in a school or university.”

eveninparadise

★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

My opinion in three sentences:

I really thought most of the way through this was going to be a high 3-star or solid 4-star read, but then the ending got me in so many ways – it was honestly exquisite. Protagonist Charlie was a relatable character without an irritating narrative voice, and wonderfully complemented by complex side-characters who weren’t purely echoes of one another. The only thing I think that could have pushed it to a complete 5-star was if there was a definitive plotline rather than a winding tangle of several side stories.

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

Philpot is a master of words with the ending, addressing difficult themes, ideas and feelings and somehow expressing them with absolute marvel. Many a time was I highlighting a favourite quote, awed at how well it summarised a thought or emotion I could never find the words to express. I’d hands down say the key strength of the book is how it takes relatable, not-so-easy themes and digs deep into the reader’s heart with its emotive ideas.

A warning for the book:

I wasn’t a huge fan on the balance between the Charlie finding herself part of the story and the uncovering of the Buchanan secrets. It felt as if both were vying to be centre stage and yet neither were being centre stage. I think I’d have preferred it if one had been more dominant than the other and shaped the novel accordingly (though I can’t say which I think would have produced the better story…)

Recommended for fans of:

  • We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
  • We Are Young by Cat Clarke
  • Fix Me by Lisa Cronkhite

 

Leave a comment