Tone Deaf by Olivia Rivers

Challenge #50 ~ “A book that includes a journey.”

tonedeaf

★ ★ ★ ★

My opinion in three sentences:

My first reaction would be to describe this as an easy summer read – something I mean in the sense of a book you can pick up, read in a matter of hours and enjoy as a superficial, feel-good tale (with a few complications here and there). Yet, at the same time, there’s another layer of depth to the story that Rivers introduces, with complex (yet well-handled themes) and a whole series of plot-twists that lead to intense adrenaline-spikes emotionally. Well-researched with gorgeous prose, Tone Deaf proves another hidden gem of the YA genre.

Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

Rivers has done her research. The book is teeming with respect, appreciation and information on deaf (and Deaf) culture in America, and not in a way that uses ceaseless info-dumps or long factual narratives, but woven delicately into a story about so many other things. When we talk about diversity and representation, this is the kind of manner we mean – realistic yet accurate, subtle yet sensitive.

A warning for the book:

As with many other people I’ve spoken to about the book, I had a huge problem with lead male character, Jace. I even got to the point at the very beginning where I said to myself “if these two end up in any sort of romantic relationship, I’m docking a whole star from the rating”. He was a flawed and problematic character that, essentially, didn’t really show any reasoning for his terrible behaviour and poor actions. And also seemed shallow enough to switch from one standpoint to another on the whim of the wind. Yes, not my cup of tea.

Recommended for fans of:

  • Less Than Nothing by R.E. Blake
  • Keeping the Beat by Marie Powell & Jeff Norton
  • There You’ll Find Me by Jenny B. Jones

Leave a comment