The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood

Challenge #43 ~ “A book related to STEM (science, technology, engineering, mathematics) – fiction or non-fiction.”

squareroot

★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆

My opinion in three sentences:

I was very much expecting a beach read from this, and wasn’t entirely convinced by the prospect merging of alternate realities and teen romance drama. Colour me shocked, however, because Hapgood made this work from start to beginning, with the correct balance of each, some great storytelling and a good touch of humour to boot. The pacing of the story and narrative was definitely a little on the odd side, but on the whole it worked, and was a surprisingly strong read.

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

I like contemporary fiction, and I like fantasy fiction. Combining the two was an odd choice, and I was certainly skeptical at first. I’m all down for YA fantasy/sci-fi, but I had my hesitations about the fluffy romance elements, real-world teen drama and would work with a light touch of science-fiction elements that could just be the protagonist going a little bonkers. Particularly when it sounded like there was going to be teen drama and superficial romance than Hutchinson’s “We Are the Ants” (which I have to say did work really well.) Whatever Hapgood did, however, she did it well, because it worked really well, and certainly gave the book a USP.

A warning for the book:

If the premise sounds a little odd and curious, I can assure you that’s it’s all that way for the best, but unfortunately the same can’t be said for the timeline along which the narrative plays out. Sometimes, it’s all at once, and sometimes there’s long swathes of nothing at all. Bare with the pacing, and you’re in for a quaint read, though.

Recommended for fans of:

  • This Adventure Ends by Emma Mills
  • Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke
  • We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson

Leave a comment