The Extraordinaries by T. J. Klune

Challenge #8 ~ “A book with a two word title where the first word is ‘The’.”

theextraordinaries

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My opinion in three sentences:

I saw this book many times on Goodreads, read the blurb and then ruthlessly didn’t add it to my TBR (as I’m currently trying to cut that down as much as possible to something manageable, or at least realistic). An excerpt at the end of The House in the Cerulean Sea, however, grabbed a firm hold of my interest, and the next morning found me seizing the last available copy at the local library and, whenever possible, with my nose between the pages. I laughed out loud (several times), I almost cried and, once again, Klune took my breath away with his quirky writing style and wacky characters – a testament that needs no real further recommendation, in my opinion.

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

Everything came together in a literary sense to not only craft the characters but convey and portray them in the best light. It was the kind of light relief we’re all in need of this year, and I was unashamedly laughing out loud (much to the confusion of my housemate and (probably) fellow occupants on the bus). Not only does Klune hook you in and give you an amazing story, but he presents all the feels to go along with it, and I’m already eagerly awaiting the sequel (although it does make a fantastic standalone, too!)

A warning for the book:

Don’t try to take it too seriously. Klune is here with the series for a fun time, and openly points and laughs at the clichés and stereotypical tropes along the way. This is something in the past I’ve not been a great fan of, but in The Extraordinaries it’s done in such a manner that it works. Come here with a love for awkward gays or as a fan of superheroes (or both, but that needn’t be the case), and Klune will reward you in return with a delightful, humorous read.

Recommended for fans of:

  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
  • The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
  • Red, White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

Leave a comment