We Used to Be Friends by Amy Spalding

Wildcard ~ December

weusedtobe

★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

My opinion in three sentences:

Spalding promises a exposition of a friendship falling apart told, interestingly, in two POVs – one with a forwards timeline, and one backwards. Unfortunately, with unrelatable characters and an unbelieveable friendship in the first place, such a premise isn’t delivered, and the dual timeline proves more confusing than anything else. It’s readable, mainly helped by the background dressing designed to encourage the character developments, but that’s probably as high a praise as I’d be willing to give it.

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

There was momentum to keep the book going, even if it wasn’t from the characters, key plot or main themes promised. That is, there were smaller side plots (or really just background elements to beef the character exploration, if I’m honest) that held more interest to me than anything else, and they helped me find the will to move through the chapters if nothing else. A small distinction, perhaps, but one that elevated it above a DNF or an absolutely excruciating read in my opinion.

A warning for the book:

Ignore the blurb? There’s a promise of great character exposition which, even if you take just lightly, offers more than is delivered. To me, the characters are probably the worst element of this book (and I’m all for gray characters, just give me something small to make them relatable or root-for-able!) I couldn’t buy into the friendship that supposedly existed and was now falling apart, and I couldn’t even really empathise with the characters (and, like us all, I’ve seen friendships I’m in dissolve). That’s why I wouldn’t recommend this further, although sadly can’t really point to any books that do successfully tackle such a theme (if you know of any, please let me know!)

Leave a comment