The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Challenge #40 ~ “A book with flowers or greenery on the cover.”

inheritancegames

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My opinion in three sentences:

This book was a very welcome reminder of what it’s like to be truly captivated by a novel, such that you’re constantly planning your next opportunity to read on and staying up late into the night (or early morning) to finish it off! From the engaging and humorous writing style to the cryptic puzzles for characters and readers alike, Barnes kept me on my toes throughout, and already has me on tenterhooks for the sequel. In full disclosure, I was a little disappointed by how underwhelming the Big Reveal was but, given the standard of the rest of the novel, I feel as if it’s going to be one of those that grows more and more powerful the more one discovers going forward.

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

Often twists or puzzles in a book can be a little obvious to the reader, especially seasoned ones, and sometimes writers reveal not quite enough information in order to avoid this. Barnes, however, gives the reader everything they need to solve the puzzle, or as much as the protagonist has, at least, and still manages to baffle us all. The entire book (and, I hope, series) is one complex, multi-layered brain teaser, and it is a real joy to watch things play out as the pages turn.

A warning for the book:

At first I thought I was going to be disappointed. There is such hype around this book, and rightfully so, but I just couldn’t gel with the narrative at the start – both the literal start of the book and the start of her time in Texas. The former grew on me over the course of the book, but I’m still not sure what set-up the latter was required for – I guess only time will tell! Sticking with it, however, is a must, through what feels like familiar prose or a touch mundane – the real story is, trust me, sensational.

Recommended for fans of:

  • One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus
  • Splintered by A. G. Howard
  • The Last of August by Brittany Cavallaro

Leave a comment