Red Nemesis by Steve Cole

Challenge #12 ~ “A book with a colour in the title.”

rednemesis

★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

My opinion in three sentences:

A sensational and high-energy way to finish the series, if a little far-fetched at times. Cole’s characterisation was, as ever, relatable, fun, and not overly arduous, which was key when we had several characters from previous instalments popping up throughout Red Nemesis. Each setting really sprung to life too, and I’d wholly recommend the audiobook (if you have the choice) for some top quality narration.

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

As much as this can be a standalone novel, Cole pays tribute to the Young Bond series as a whole, with a whole slew of characters we’ve seen before. Not only that, but events happen and things are revealed that add a whole other layer of understanding to previous tales (and flip some things totally on their heads!) I can’t say much more for fear of giving things away, but if you’ve read the previous books, be prepared for things to be shook.

A warning for the book:

I’ve heard others say that if you liked the prequels, you’ll like this one too. I think that’s fair to say but I’d also argue that if you didn’t, you might like this one (especially if you enjoyed Higson’s initial works in the series). Since Shoot to Kill, my interest in each book has waned, and it’s been a bit of a struggle to get through them (hence why I put this one off for such a long time). However, this is my favourite of all Cole’s contributions and definitely harkens back to the action, clever plotting and twisting ideas of Higson’s. So, if you’re in two minds, I say it’s worth giving it a go!

Recommended for fans of:

  • This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
  • Nightshade by Anthony Horowitz
  • Mortal Engines by Philip Reeve

Leave a comment