A Complicated Love Story Set in Space by Shaun David Hutchinson

Challenge #36 ~ “A book with six or more words in the title.”

acomplicatedlovestory

★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

My opinion in three sentences:

Shaun David Hutchinson’s books are automatic must-reads for me, but whilst I enjoyed this one, there were a couple of elements that just nudged it off-kilter – namely, Noa (who becomes a little insufferable after a while), and the ending. The mystery is well-maintained and well-developed throughout, however, and even now I have the odd question (that will undoubtedly be answered with a re-read). Plus, Noa aside, the characters are Hutchinson’s usual high-standard, comical bunch, and with the story he tells here, they sure go down a treat!

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

The same story could have been told in many a different way, but I think Hutchinson nailed the choice of event timeline, presentation and style. From every quirky element of set dressing to the unavoidable and cliché dramatic “it’s-the-end-of-the-world” plot twists, it was very much tailored to the contemporary YA audience, and both such awareness and skill are to be lauded. It’s futuristic and yet so now that even if the plot heads in a direction you’re not too keen on – (it was a bit too weird for my tastes) – then you’re still in for a fun read.

A warning for the book:

I can usually relate/get-on-with/abide Hutchinson’s characters, but Noa certainly challenged that. I just couldn’t bring myself to like his character, which made it rather challenging when he was the narrator. (And I get why he was the narrator, but did he have to be so self-centred, obtuse, and irritating?..)

Recommended for fans of:

  • The Bunker Diary by Kevin Brooks
  • The Vault of Dreamers by Caragh M. O’Brien
  • Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Leave a comment