This Winter by Alice Oseman

Challenge #25 ~ “A book with fewer than 220 or more than 440 pages.”

thiswinter

★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

My opinion in three sentences:

I can only comment on my experience – an audio format which I found a little clunky and in which I didn’t like one of the narrators, hence the four stars – but worry not, the literary elements are Oseman’s usual standard of finesse. Told in three parts, each character had a distinctive voice and this multi-perspective approach helped offer a rounded exploration of the main themes. Plus, whilst handling some serious ideas and not being the rosiest depiction of a family Christmas, there are still plenty of feel-good moments and elements of humour.

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

Oseman always manages to capture the complex and dynamic elements of relationships and themes in her novels – and this short novella is no exception. Each POV is distinct from the other and offers a rounded look at mental illness, eating disorders and the added challenges holidays (in particular, Christmas) can bring. It was relatable, accessible and well-researched (but what else do you expect from an Oseman book?)

A warning for the book:

This is one book I don’t think benefits from being an audiobook. From what I understand, there’s a tonne of illustrations in the physical book (which obviously aren’t conveyed in the audio), and my main struggle with the audio was the volume of instant messaging interactions which become clunky when not in written form. So, if possible, I’d recommend reading this one rather than listening (although, quick disclaimer, I haven’t actually read it myself.)

Recommended for fans of:

  • Stay Another Day by Juno Dawson
  • Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn
  • As Far As You’ll Take Me by Phil Stamper

Leave a comment