All Systems Red by Martha Wells

Wildcard #12 ~ “A novella or book of short stories.”

allsystemsred

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My opinion in three sentences:

I’d never have said I was a heavy sci-fi fan, but this series (starting from this, the very first book) certainly has me hooked. The protagonist (despite being a programmed-to-kill, part-human part-robot) is one of the most relatable characters I’ve read in a while, and laugh-out-loud fun. The side characters and plot arc were pretty solid too, making it an overall thoroughly enjoyable read.

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

There’s such a serious plot and tense atmosphere, yet there’s also an incredible light-heartedness and sense of humour to this novella. For a character called Murderbot, their(admittedly slightly morose) and sarcastic attitude was actually the predominant light relief for the book, and added both realism and relatability. In short, Wells balanced the tone exceptionally through characters and plot alike (and allowed Murderbot to steal their way into my hart without me even knowing!)

A warning for the book:

I’ll admit I was a little bit unsure as to the wider context of the story, particularly at the beginning. Understandable, of course, given that it’s a novella set in a whole new universe. However, whilst it did gradually improve as the story unfolds, there is still a lot I don’t know upon finishing which feels important for understanding the background of many characters and their actions, as well as fully appreciating the wider ramifications the plot developments from this tale will have. Hopefully, there’s more clarification to come in future instalments!

Recommended for fans of:

  • Unearthed by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  • Avalon by Mindee Arnett

Leave a comment