The Marvellers by Dhonielle Clayton

Wildcard #19 ~ “A book with chapters that have names.”

marvellers

★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

My opinion in three sentences:

My feelings about this one are fairly mixed, and whilst things did get better as it progressed, I was overall rather unconvinced. The plot took a significant while to get going as substantial world-building was required (yet, if I’m honest, there was still much left unexplained in the wider universe, making things rather confusing). This slow start proved particularly fatal in my opinion, especially when considering it’s marketed as a middle-grade novel.

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

At it’s core, this book has some real potential (even if the delivery is a little lacking), and so I’m hopeful for greater things as the series unravels. The diversity is top notch and I am a big supporter of Clayton’s goal to offer representation to those usually left out of such stories. If Clayton nails the sequel(s), they could really be something to laud for storytelling, representation and diversity.

A warning for the book:

If I read this and was told it was an early draft, I would be very excited for the final product, but as the finished product it therefore felt rather rough around the edges – the plot is slow (leaving much to future books), the world-building is insufficient, and some of the concepts and timeline a little skwonky. On paper, a cracking concept I really wanted to enjoy, but the standard of delivery left things to be desired.

N.B.: With thanks to NetGalley and the publisher who provided an e-ARC in return for an honest and reflective review.

Leave a comment