Here’s to Us by Becky Albertalli & Adam Silvera

Challenge #31 ~ “A book found by inputting a favourite author on Literature Map.”

herestous

★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆

My opinion in three sentences:

I enjoyed this more than I expected given that I remembered little about book one despite only reading it a couple of years ago (meaning it wasn’t standout, but equally wasn’t horrific.) Those are pretty much my feelings about this one, too – I’d not expected a sequel and had the inkling it would add little substantial to the universe (I was right). However, it wasn’t poorly written and so made for a pleasant-enough read.

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

As I mentioned above, it was fairly mediocre and so singling out something great isn’t easy. But, if pressed, perhaps the continuity from book to book. It had the same feel, style, tone etc. as book one so going in there’s a familiarity of “if-you-enjoyed-that-you’ll-probably-enjoy-this-too”.

A warning for the book:

It’s a long book. I only picked this up as the audio was available at the library when I needed something new to listen to, and I shudder to think how long it might have felt as a visual read. That is to say that the plot is very convoluted (I’d say unnecessarily so) and with very minimal character development, it’s easy to see where things are going…

Recommended for fans of:

  • Melt With You by Jennifer Dugan
  • Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall
  • As Far As You’ll Take Me by Phil Stamper

Leave a comment