Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall

Wildcard ~ February

boyfriendmaterial

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My opinion in three sentences:

I was not expecting to enjoy this as much as I did, and even after the initial chapters I wasn’t sure it would be my cup of tea but, wow, did it grow on me! The characters were realistic and relatable, developing and growing on the reader with every chapter – yes, even Alex. The storyline twisted although some events were a little predictable, I admit, but it was a fun, emotional rollercoaster of a read that you’ll find yourself rooting for every step of the way.

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

It’s not all sunshine and rainbows – when is life? – but Hall is not afraid to call out and challenge the problematic characters, mindsets and actions that are presented. In such a way, the book is not only more realistic, but it offers a lens into a healthy way of approaching and dealing with prejudice, discrimination and concerning behaviour (and not in a way that comes across as a lecture or as unnatural within the confines of the book). (Oh, and if I could have a second best bit, it would be the narration – honestly, perfection.)

A warning for the book:

It starts with a bang and not with a whimper. The opening chapters are bold, brash and unashamed, and whilst not out of place with the rest of the book, I did find them a little jarring. In particular, it created a sense of tone and theme to the book that I wasn’t wholly comfortable with (just a personal preference thing, there was nothing actually wrong with it). However, as the book developed, I found my place within it and the whole lot (characters, culture and all) grew on me (even if I would still feel discomfort reading the beginning in isolation). What I’m trying to say? Don’t write it off as “not your thing” too soon, because it has hidden depths!

Leave a comment