Daisy Jones and the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Challenge #16 ~ “Three books, each of which is set in a different century: Book 2 ~ 20th Century.”

daisyjones

★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

My opinion in three sentences:

Many people have said how world-changing and awe-inspiring this book is, and whilst I didn’t find that it lived up to that hype for me, it was still enjoyable (and definitely felt larger than life – honestly, I would have been inclined to believe you if you said this was a memoir of a real band). The format was novel and helped keep things interesting, fresh, and moving along – made all the better, I believe, by a fully cast audiobook version. The handling of addiction as a theme was also first-rate and whilst, like many other elements, I wasn’t convinced at first, it really grew into its own as the book progressed.

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

At no point does the author shy away from difficult topics, and in fact uses the plethora of characters to introduce contrasting and challenging views on ideas and highlight the social context of the time. In such a way, it is clearly a well-researched book, but it also shows great awareness, courage and sensitivity to not only tackle some of these themes, but to do so in a way which offers a range of perspectives (some of which can feel slightly uncomfortable or controversial in our modern society).

A warning for the book:

I enjoyed it, but I think this is one of those that only worked so well for me as it was an audiobook. The full cast narration definitely did a lot of work in keeping the large cast of characters straight and distinctive in my head, as well as keeping things moving momentum-wise (I took a break after the first third and was very disinclined to come back as I wasn’t really feeling anything about the book – needless to say, not long after, it grabbed my lapels and ran). So, if you have the option, I’d say grab the audio over a written version, especially if it’s your first encounter with the novel.

Recommended for fans of:

  • Everyone in My Family Has Killed Someone by Benjamin Stevenson
  • The Stranger in the Lifeboat by Mitch Albom
  • Nine Liars by Maureen Johnson

Leave a comment