History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

Challenge #35 ~ “A book with a school subject in the title.”

historyisall

★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

My opinion in three sentences:

I was a big fan of They Both Die at the End (such that I’m rather reluctant to risk spoiling it by reading the new prequel) so I was excited yet hesitate about this, despite having heard many good things. Despite going in with some trepidation, I was ultimately still left disappointed and found it an underwhelming read, not necessarily because the premise or approach were poor but I struggled to gel with the protagonist and follow some of the peculiar directions that the plot took. It had its poignant moments and the prose was certainly readable, but I can’t see myself returning at any point.

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

Silvera offered some OCD-representation that was both more in-depth and appreciative of its complexities than I’ve seen in many books, whilst also not making it the sole defining trait of the character or only theme of the novel. It showed clear signs of careful research and didn’t shy away from some of the uglier or more challenging aspects, and I’ll admit that, as much as I struggled with the character, this was pretty refreshing to see.

A warning for the book:

It sounds great, it’s written by an author with other great works, but it itself is decidedly not great. If you’re lucky to find some degree of resonance with the protagonist and are feeling very generous when it comes to odd and highly suspect life choices for the sake of drama, then maybe you’re in a better stead to find it the emotional triumph I know many other have. Sadly, however, this just wasn’t one for me (and I’m not convinced in this instance it’s entirely my fault.)

Leave a comment