The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

Challenge #30 ~ “A book featuring an elderly character.”

haroldfry

★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

My opinion in three sentences:

A quaint, poignant tale of the simple things in life – from the joys to the hardships to the people you meet along the way. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry is something different, suitable for all and (despite what you may think from the title) not about religion. With quirky humour, some though-provoking sentiment and luscious language (that is a must for any fan of the English countryside), Joyce presents a work that makes you think twice about modern life and is sure to leave a lasting impact on the way you got about your day.

(Without spoiling anything) the best bit:

It’s great to find something so different. Something that makes you stop and think. Something that offers a reflection on modern life, contemporary issues and challenges we all face, often daily, and twists them into an optimistic (yet realistic) outlook with good bouts of humour and a celebration of the everyday normal we let just drift us by. It’s a celebration of life in its simplicity, beautifully written, and I love that.

A warning for the book:

As seems to have been a recurring issue of late, the mid-point of this book became a little stodgy for me, and I struggled to keep up the momentum. Plot-points became sparse, the journey became more of a list of places walked through, and as much as Harold seemed to struggle, I was too. Then, almost as soon as his companions did what they did (you’ll know what I mean once you’ve read it), I suddenly found I could read on again – and it transformed back into that quaint, poignant tale I’d loved so much in the first half!

Recommended for fans of:

  • The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom
  • My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik Backman
  • Round Ireland with a Fridge by Tony Hawks

Leave a comment